It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas (minus the snow)

The air is getting colder, the heater is on a regular schedule, and it never seems like there’s enough time in the day to accomplish anything (well, it always seems to feel that way, regardless of the season). We lit the fireplace for the first time this autumn, clearly signifying the beginning of the holidays. To be honest, time has flown by all too quick– on Thanksgiving, I woke up and to me, it felt like just another day until the ovens turned on and the mad rush to make Thanksgiving dinner began.

Last weekend we got our fresh-cut Christmas tree. My parents have considered just buying a fake one, but every year I insist on driving to the tree place up the street. I think I’ve persuaded them to keep doing so until I go to college- then *maybe* they can buy an artificial one. I just love the smell of a fresh Christmas tree.

Trees1.jpg

Finals are in 2 weeks (ugh) and it’s been hard to get into the Christmas spirit. School ends just a few days before Christmas Eve, which frustrates me– by the time we’re done studying, done with exams, there are only a couple days before Christmas and then it’s over. There’s hardly enough time to go ice skating, gift shopping, etc.

Despite school’s interference with holiday joy, I’m trying my best to enjoy the season anyways. Sometimes when I’m working late, I’ll cozy up with my AP World History book and a cup of Ghirardelli hot chocolate. That stuff is amazing. It’s so rich that I can hardly finish an entire cup without feeling the need to drink a cup of milk to compensate for the intense chocolate-y goodness. We decorated our Christmas tree yesterday, and I must say, it is beginning to feel like the holiday season.

Tree2.jpg

It’s a gorgeous tree. The picture doesn’t really do it justice. We’ve collected so many ornaments over the years; whenever we pull one out of the tissue paper, the “remember this?!” ‘s always start a story. Decorating the tree has been a post-Thanksgiving tradition for as long as I can remember.

Another reminder of the season is the major drop in temperatures. This week we’re experiencing below freezing temperatures. The low tonight is 28 degrees.

DSCN1349

This Christmas, it’s my goal to slightly put aside the school stress and focus on the bigger picture: it’s a joyful time that comes only once a year; why waste it by focusing too much on school, which already gains my attention for 10 months out of the year. I also refuse to fall into the ever increasing consumerism mindset that Black Friday sales and “holiday specials” magnify.

I hope everyone enjoys the holidays with their friends and family. What are some Christmas traditions you have?

PS: Expect more recipes soon!

Leave a reply

